West from Coneysthorpe to Terrington, then north along the Centenary Way to Wath Wood. East, again following the Centenary Way, through Fryton Wood and Slingsby Banks Wood, then south-east via Coneysthorpe Banks Wood to Easthorpe Hall Stud. Finally south then south-west by way of Low Gaterley, before returning north through the grounds of Castle Howard to Coneysthorpe. A 15-mile walking route in the Howardian Hills.
Entrance to the grounds of Castle Howard, near Great Lake at Coneysthorpe.
The Castle Howard estate.
Lodge near the north entrance to the grounds of Castle Howard.
The village of Terrington.
Howardian Hills countryside.
The straight road heading south to the Castle Howard Obelisk.
Extremely muddy footpaths near High Gaterley.
The Mausoleum, Castle Howard
The Mausoleum rises 90 feet into the air and is supported by a colonnade of 20 pillars. Designed by Nicholas Hawksmoor, it is one of the finest free-standing mausoleums in northern Europe.
Building began in 1729 but was not completed until after the deaths of both Hawskmoor and the 3rd Earl, who was originally buried in the local parish church and re-interred in the mausoleum six years later.
New River Bridge, Castle Howard
New River Bridge spans New River on the Castle Howard estate. It is a sandstone bridge dating from the 1740s and is a Grade 1 listed building.
Temple of the Four Winds, Castle Howard
The Temple of the Four Winds lies at the eastern end of Temple Terrace, commanding stunning views across the hills.
It was designed by Vanbrugh but remained unfinished at the time of his death in 1726. The interiors were finally decorated in 1738 by the stuccoist Francesco Vassalli.
The temple was originally used as a place for refreshment and reading, beneath it is a cellar where servants prepared the food they served to the family above.